If He Wakes

You can always trust your best friend… can’t you?

When Rachel discovers a Twitter message arranging a romantic liaison she assumes her husband is having an affair, and follows him. What she witnesses is so much worse: a hit and run using his car.

Meanwhile, Rachel’s friend and business partner Suzie is increasingly worried about her fiance, who’s not been in touch for days. When Suzie learns of huge debts racked up in her name she fears he has run out on her, but then the threatening calls start and she thinks something terrible has happened.

Rachel and Suzie are both about to learn shocking things about the men they love, worse than they could ever imagine… Can their friendship survive?

Reviews:

‘A tense, pulse-quickening tale. If you read the first chapter, you can’t help but read the second. I flew through this perfect summer read of best friends in turmoil in one feverish session.’ Paula Daly

‘An absorbing, believable first chapter perfectly sets the scene for what is to come, in this tense and shocking psychological thriller. The plot cleverly conceals more than it reveals and just when you think you’ve solved the mystery, you find another twist. Authentic characters complement the realistic storyline in a readable mix of action and introspection.’ Jane Hunt Writer

‘IF HE WAKES definitely kept me entertained and I’d recommend it to anyone who wants a quick, mysterious read.’ Go Buy the Book

‘While no book, story or author is ever really perfect, there are some books which certainly hit the nail on the head and come pretty close! IF HE WAKES by Zoe Lea is one of these books. This story is action-packed without being confusing, heart-wrenching and very current. There was nothing I didn’t like about this book! This is a book for lovers of a dramatic plot. This book is a mystery, but not a crime, thriller or horror so I feel that I could recommend this to nearly any reader.’ Romantics, Rebels and Reviews

‘Lea’s writing style is such that the tension continued to mount until the last page and this kept me reading until the end.’ Portable Magic

‘This is a debut book by this author, and what a way to start! All in all, I thought this book was great and flew through it in just over a day. It was a great thriller and held my interest all the way through.  It was fast paced and there were plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing as to what was going on. In my opinion, it was a highly enjoyable read that left me on the edge of my seat. Would definitely recommend this one!!’ Stardust Book Reviews

‘Zoe Lea has written a terrific shocking book. She carefully divides her tension and the result is a fantastic spine-chilling, surprising and suspenseful story. I went through a rollercoaster of emotions while reading this fabulous story, which is something I absolutely loved. Zoe Lea kept me on the edge of my seat with her amazing descriptions. I highly recommend this moving and mesmerizing book.’ With Love for Books

‘Every now and again a new author comes along with a debut novel that knocks you off your feet. Zoe Lea is one of these authors and IF HE WAKES is one of those books. With some clever twists and a really believable, disturbing plotline, Zoe Lea’s debut is bound to be a huge hit and rightly so.’ Urban Bookworm

‘IF HE WAKES is a fast-paced and exciting story. It’s full of nail-biting moments and builds up the tension perfectly until the shocking conclusion is revealed.’ Short Book and Scribes

‘I thought this was a good book. The plot was good, I like how the two storylines worked together, and there was a lot going on. Not too complicated but enough to keep me turning the pages to find out what happens.’ Goodreads review

‘Fantastic debut! Had me hooked from the first page, the alternative chapter’s of characters each ending on a bombshell kept me reading right to the end in one sitting. A book full of secrets and twists, brilliant.’ Wendy H, NetGalley review

‘This debut novel is a dramatic treat. The chapters are split between the two lead characters, Suzie and Rachel who are friends, starting a new business together. Their lives are shattered by a dramatic event, witnessed by Rachel and the ripple effect resonates throughout the family and deeply impacts their friendship. The tension begins immediately in chapter one and grows as the story unravels. It kept my interest throughout.’ Sharon A, NetGalley review

‘The characters, with their flaws are credible and likeable.  Their situations are scarily realistic. It is a truly gripping read’ Yvonne C, Educator NetGalley review

‘I read this book in one sitting. Hubby had to go to the fish n’ chip shop to get dinner because I was just not putting it down. FABULOUS. Loved it from start to finish. I have already recommended it to several people.’ Valerie M, NetGalley review

‘A fast-paced, tense thriller. Highly recommended’ Carol H, NetGalley review

‘This is a tautly plotted thriller that grips you from the start.’ Susan F, NetGalley review

‘A real page-turner with lots of twists, turns with an ending I did not see coming. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good thriller.’ Lee H, NetGalley review

‘It is a book that grabbed my attention immediately and continued to do so until the end.’ Diane P, NetGalley review

‘A very dark story underlying the relationships between the characters. Great characters portraying a range of very real emotions. Enough twists and turns to keep you guessing almost to the end. A very enjoyable read.’ Sarah K, NetGalley review

‘Fantastic debut! Had me hooked from the first page. A book full of secrets and twists, brilliant.’Wendy H, NetGalley review

‘Told from the dual viewpoints of friends Rachel and Suzie, IF HE WAKES is one heck of a read, and author Zoe Lea should be justifiably proud of her debut novel. It’s so easy to write about a book grabbing one’s attention, but believe me, it grabbed hold and demanded I get back to it every time I put it down.Two words – Completely engaging!’ Maureen E, NetGalley review

‘A compelling read for those who like to experience modern- day issues. This could be a superb book for use in schools with teenagers as they discuss the profound issues of grooming, revenge etc. Definitely recommended reading for older teenagers and adults.’ Diane J, NetGalley review

‘Just when I thought I had this book figured out, there was a new twist, a new revelation. A very enjoyable fast read.’ Debra C, NetGalley review

‘Really good story. Really fast paced and full of action. I read this book in one sitting. It is definitely a page turner and worth reading.’ Julie H, NetGalley review

‘A real page turner. This story really grips you. It is full of twists and turns and the ending is utter brilliance. A must read if you like a thrill!’ Michelle R, NetGalley review

‘IF HE WAKES definitely kept me entertained and I’d recommend it to anyone who wants a quick, mysterious read.’ Karen O, NetGalley review

‘This is a brilliant debut novel, it keeps you engrossed and wanting to keep reading to see what happens. Just when you thought you knew what was going on the author throws a spanner in the works and makes you think again. I really hope we get another book soon by Zoe as I for one can’t wait to read it.’ Karen H, NetGalley review

‘IF HE WAKES by Zoe Lea was an excellent thriller that hooked me from the first page to the last. It was a very exciting read and had me on the edge of my seat with twist and turns that I didn’t see coming. I’m looking forward to reading more from this author.’ Pauline S, NetGalley review

‘This book demands to be read in one sitting, as once you start reading you really won’t want to stop! It’s twisty and pacey and completely engaging. A must read for fans of Riley Sager and Jo Spain.’ Gem R, NetGalley review

‘Thoroughly enjoyed this contemporary story, written from the viewpoints of the two main protagonists.  The complex plot unfolds piece by piece with a believable outcome – great debut.’Kerry M, NetGalley review

‘I love taking chance on new authors, and this book is an example as to why. It was brilliantly written, suspenseful and mysterious, plus it was so well described it made feel as if I was part of the story; a fly on the wall. Writing style was fabulous, gripping and descriptive, it definitely kept me from putting down my kindle! I was completely hooked from page one. The story was a great one, with the right amount of suspense and right amount of emotion. The characters were well thought out, well described and I could picture their faces and attire as if I personally knew them. Definitely a nail-biting read and one that will have you hooked from the get-go.’ Lucii G,NetGalley review

‘Captivating, suspenseful, entertaining novel! This thriller kept me on the edge of my seat while I was reading it! Would highly recommend to those who enjoy this genre.’ YC C, NetGalley review

‘Absolutely amazing.  Makes you question your life and to me that shows the author got into your head.  I think that the characters were done so well, it was impossible not to get engaged into the world of this book and then start feeling it as your reality.  I can’t wait to see more from Zoe Lea’ Johnna W, NetGalley review

‘I really enjoyed this book from the off! A woman desperate to know what her husband is doing being where he shouldn’t be and all the drama that follows on from this. A real page turner with a twist that will keep you hooked.’ Lucy W, NetGalley review