Edge of the Grave (Jimmy Dreghorn 1)

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

When Charles Geddes, son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders, is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, his beautiful widow Isla Lockhart asks for Inspector James Dreghorn to lead the murder case.

Dreghorn has a troubled history with the powerful Lockhart family that stretches back to before the First World War and is reluctant to become involved. But facing pressure from his superiors, he has no choice in the matter.

The investigation takes him and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid from the flying fists and flashing blades of the Glasgow underworld to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business in order to find out who wanted Charles Geddes dead and why. As the case deepens, the pair will put their lives on the line in the pursuit of a sadistic killer who is ready to strike again . . .

Reviews:

A mesmerizing debut – raw, brutally violent but immensely human. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off — Peter James, number one bestselling author of the DS Roy Grace series

A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it. I can’t wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid. Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut — Mark Billingham

Robbie Morrison serves up a delicious slice of 30s gangster noir set in the grim and greasy, sodden and savage streets of Glasgow when it was the Empire’s Second City. Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read — Adrian McKinty, bestselling author of The Chain

Wonderfully gritty, violent and nasty in all the right ways — James Oswald, bestselling author of the Inspector McLean series

Sharp and lethal as a cut-throat razor. Deeply researched, with strong characterisation and a fluent narrative, Robbie Morrison’s first novel is a book to savour — John Harvey, bestselling author of the Charlie Resnick novels

1930s Glasgow portrayed in all its ragged glory — Alan Parks

Robbie Morrison really is a breath of fresh creative air in crime fiction. Edge of the Grave is a stunning debut: razor sharp prose and a superbly crafted sense of place and time. A great Glaswegian page-turner: I could smell the smog and feel the grit throughout — Craig Russell, author of the LENNOX series

The dark heart of 1930s gangland Glasgow is brought back to vivid, violent life in Robbie Morrison’s brilliant first novel. Fast moving and evocative, the prose cuts like a razor, straight through to the heart — Martyn Waites