After the Fall UK/ Second Chances ANZ

In the quiet of a winter’s night, a rescue helicopter is sent to airlift a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He’s fallen from the upstairs verandah of an isolated farmhouse, and his condition is critical. At first Finn’s fall looks like a horrible accident; after all, he’s prone to sleepwalking. Only his frantc mother Martha McNamara, knows how it happened. And she isn’t telling/. Not yet. Maybe not ever.

Tragedy isn’t what the McNamara family expected when they moved to New Zealand. For Martha, it was an escape. For her artist husband Kit, it was a dream. For their small twin boys, it was an adventure. For sixteen-year-old Sacha, it was the start of a nightmare.

They end up on the isolated coast of the North Island, seemingly in paradise. But their peaceful idyll is soon shattered as the choices Sacha makes lead the family down a path which threatens to destroy them all…

Click here to see Charity talk about her book with Richard and Judy.

Reviews:

‘Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult…Norman is hot on their heels.’Daily Mail

‘Second Chances is emotionally astute and Norman writes with razor sharp perception and deep compassion.’ Meredith Jaffe, thehoopla, 05.07.12

‘A compelling story, Second Chances is an emotional and thought provoking read.’ Shelley Rae, Bookdout, 06.07.12

‘I would definitely recommend After the Fall and I agree that Charity Norman definitely ranks as highly as Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope.’ 09.09.12, curiousbookfans.co.uk

‘Overall, I think that you can probably tell that I loved this book! A book that leaves you thinking about it for weeks afterwards is definitely an effective read. This is a perfect read for any time of the year, especially if you want something that isn’t difficult but has a good amount of substance behind it. Perfect for Jodi Picoult fans. I absolutely can’t wait to read more of Norman’s work!’ Steppingoutofthepage.co.uk, 14.12.12

‘After the Fall is a particularly gripping read. I have Charity Norman’s first book sitting on my shelf so I am really looking forward to reading more by this great author.’ dot-scribbles.blogspot.co.uk, 21.12.12

‘So you like Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope, then you will love this. When you have tired of the grey novels you received for Christmas, take a stroll to the bookshop, and enjoy a nice dive into this refreshing new writer.’ Stephen Twist’s Barrister Blog, 29.12.12

‘This was a very intense and addictive read. I would recommend this book and I will also be looking forward to reading more books by this author.’ Rea Book Review, 06.01.13

AFTER THE FALL is a gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope. It was good to read about New Zealand seen through the eyes of an expat and the story will be of particular interest to parents of teenagers. A page turning book to while away a winter’s evening.’ Victoria Cooper, Redonline.co.uk, 03.01.13

‘This was a wonderful book by Charity Norman, and I really look forward to reading more from her!  She is two for two right now.’ Lookatmybooks.tumblr.com, 03.01.12

‘Skilfully written, the story will appeal to parents of young adults – as well as anyone who is curious about how a family deals with a shattering event.’ Richard’s Review, Richard and Judy’s Spring Reads 2013

 ‘Original, wonderfully written and utterly gripping, this is a corker of a tale.’  The Sun, 11.01.13